Democracy of the Dead – Frances J. Roberts

G.K. Chesterton once said that “Tradition means giving a vote to most obscure of all classes, our ancestors. It is the democracy of the dead…Tradition refuses to submit to the small and arrogant oligarchy of those who merely happen to be walking about. All democrats object to men being disqualified by the accident of birth; tradition objects to their being disqualified by the accident of death. Democracy tells us not to neglect a good man’s opinion, even if he is our groom; tradition asks us not to neglect a good man’s opinion, even if he is our father.”  

To honor that sentiment and to stave off an easy chronological snobbery, Friday’s posts come straight from the mouths (or pens) of men and women who have died in the faith.

From Frances J. Roberts’ COME AWAY MY BELOVED

I Joy Over Thee

Cross by George Wharton JamesMy son, My little one, My under-shepherd, My dear friend:
You are many things to Me, even as I am many things to you.  My love for you is deep and tender.  I know thy desire to please Me, and I am happy that it is so.  How can I tell thee that though I desire holiness, and while I desire fruit in thy life, still My love for thee is in nowise contingent upon any attainment?  My glory is involved in the way ye live.  Eternal destinies are involved in the matters of thy holiness and they faithfulness and thine obedience to My direction and will; but My love for thee is independent of these factors.

I love thee because you are My child.  I love thee because I am your Father.  I love you with Calvary love.  At great price have I redeemed thee: this I did because I loved thee.  When I planned this, I foresaw thee lost in sin, and I loved thee and chose thee and set My heart upon thee.

Rather than  to comprehend the working of My sovereignty, accept this, and rejoice in it, and draw near to Me without spoiling the preciousness of our fellowship with any shadows of self-condemnation.

You are Mine, and I joy over thee.  DIscipline I reserve for the rebellious.  The first step of repentance brings My mercy.  “Mercy there is great, and grace is free – Pardon there is multiplied to thee, There the burdened heart finds liberty at Calvary.”

Let the peace of God rule in your heart and mind, and be filled with thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

